I Am From..

I am from Washington State

Where it snows by the foot

Where there is a risk of major earthquakes and volcanic eruptions, but we still live on

And where I have spent many childhood years living and playing

I am from my home

A nice, cozy, and one-story house made of white stone blocks

From spending holidays dozing in my green bed

To wasting free hours  playing random computer games

Or diving into the water in my pool, blue and cool

I am from school

From where I first set foot in Forest Trail

And West Ridge

From doing hours of mind-numbing and math homework and interesting science projects

To writing this poem

I am from Boy Scouts

From working on merit badges, first aid, and advances in the Texas heat

From setting foot on cliff faces in Colorado coldness

From blasting targets with rifles and arrows

From revelling in accomplishment when I advance a rank

I am from my family

 Where we speak a different language

Where I am a mutated leaf on the family tree, because I’m different from the rest

On my mom and dad’s branch

Where the majority of us are thousands of miles apart

But still together

Tree - leaf canopy
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: blmiers2 via Compfight

One thought on “I Am From..

  1. I like the ending: the mutated leaf on the family tree. That’s a thought-provoking image.

    This is a poem full of meaningful images. Well done, Kevin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *