Seventh Grade Reflection

When I started 7th grade in August, I expected the year to be extremely brutal. In the first week, I had to turn in two essays. That’s a little…excessive. Along with those essays, Pre-AP Algebra was churning out homework faster than a factory in China, not to mention the supposed large quantity of work you had to do in a language course. Initially, I thought this was going to be a loooooong year.

However, I later found out that significant amounts of hard work mitigated the difficulty of 7th grade significantly. Occasionally, I found the homework assignment to be quite fun, or at least simple. Despite that, there was still that piece of math homework or a project that would swallow up my time and/or was nearly impossible to complete. It also turns out that the extra work that needed to be done caused me to end up sleeping less and less. When my circadian clock gets disrupted, my brain no longer functions properly, and I get really cranky.

I can say for sure that 7th grade was odd, and I passively or actively experienced middle school drama (though watching the drama of my peers was sometimes slightly amusing). I also learned numerous things, some of which include:

  • that Spanish is an awesome, interesting, and easy course to take. My tongue still suffers from violent muscular spasms when I attempt to roll my r’s, though.
  • that I’m not super terrible and Algebra, surprisingly. That doesn’t mean it is an effortless experience, though.
  • a few shortcuts to get to my classes
  • that it takes a lot of work to get into All-Region for orchestra.
  • that you should set your mind and try to think positively when confronted with a major issue.
  • a bit more stuff related to science, and that dissecting things like chicken wings and deer hearts rank as one of my most favorite things this year (though 7th grade science could use a little more chemistry and physics).

Now that 7th grade is nearly over, I have some advice to share with the 6th graders that are about to come in.

First, work hard and try to reach a balance between work speed and work quality. Too much of one will typically compromise the other. Also, try to keep your mind open and be sure to talk to lots of people. You might make a new friend. Finally, those in double-advanced math should study a lot and ask tons of questions. Pre-AP Algebra will be demanding and difficult, and if you try to shrug it off and not put some effort, you will be destined to fail. And most importantly, have lots of fun!

 

One thought on “Seventh Grade Reflection

  1. I think Spanish is awesome, too. It was a favorite subject of mine all through middle and high school, and I was able to place out of two years of college Spanish because of my coursework.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *